Anyone that is dealing with gluten intolerance and its related symptoms is likely going to be looking for gluten-free alternatives that exist. This is especially true for those that suffer from the much more serious celiac disease which requires strict attention to detail when it comes to avoiding gluten. Some people go years and years without realizing they are allergic to gluten. This makes it very important to not only understand what gluten is, but what it can do to your body if you are not careful. Below, we will be going over what gluten is and whether or not pudding is gluten.
What Is Gluten?
Gluten is actually a naturally occurring substance that is typically found in grains. In particular, wheat has high amounts of this substance. Foods that do not contain any form of grains are typically void of gluten. Therefore, if you completely avoid grains and anything with traces of grains in it, you are likely adhering to a gluten free diet as it is. However, if you are consuming grains in any form, you are likely consuming gluten unless you read the label carefully and you find products that either is completely gluten-free or that have a very low total amount of gluten in them.
Is Jello Pudding Gluten Free?
If you are wondering if the pudding is gluten free, it ultimately depends on what type of pudding you get. For instance, if you are looking at Jell o pudding specifically, you are going to be able to rest easy knowing that there is virtually no gluten in it because they are not made with grains. These puddings are typically not very good for you in terms of their ingredient make-up and profile, but they will not harm you with gluten content. Whereas, if you are looking at different types of pudding from various cuisines and made in different parts of the world, you are likely going to have to worry because a majority of them do contain some form of grains. For instance, there are a lot of cultures that make rice pudding which is made up of rice and milk and there is also bread pudding which is made up of bread. Therefore, you want to be careful that you understand what type of pudding you are eating.
How About Instant Pudding?
As noted previously, you are generally not going to have to worry about consuming gluten with instant puddings because they do not contain any grains of any sort. Typically, the ingredients are limited to sugar, starch, artificial flavors, artificial coloring’s, vanilla extract, and different thickening agents. Because it contains cornstarch, you don’t have to worry about any sort of gluten content because cornstarch is made up entirely of corn rather than grains. Starch does not contain gluten so you have nothing to worry about on that front.
Do You Have To Worry About Cross Contamination?
This is typically something that you are going to want to pay close attention to when you are looking for gluten free foods if you are dealing with celiac disease. After all, you don’t want foods even with trace amounts of gluten in them as it could result in significant health complications. Even if a food is completely gluten free by itself, if it was processed in a facility or manufacturing plant that contains gluten foods, you will be dealing with issues with cross contamination where the gluten free foods have come into contact with the gluten-containing foods. Because of this, you want to try to find foods that provide the information on the box content and label that it was produced in a gluten free facility. Finding a product with this kind of labeling on it should give you the confidence that you need that it is not going to cause any symptoms due to containing trace amounts of gluten strictly from cross contamination.
You want to look at how manufacturers label their product to ensure that it doesn’t contain any gluten. Along with this, you want to read the label carefully to ensure that the product is not susceptible to cross contamination. Overall, you can rest easy if you are consuming instant pudding or a product like Jello pudding because it does not contain gluten. Then again, you do have to worry about cross contamination if you are someone that suffers from Celiac disease. If you have a small gluten sensitivity, you might still be able to consume smaller/trace amounts of gluten. Ask your doctor and he or she should be able to tell you what you need to look out for when you are buying pudding and anything else.